

Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System Mail: P.O. Box 44213 • Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4213

Phone: (toll-free) 1.800.256.3000 • (local) 225.922.0600

LIAISON MEMORANDUM NUMBER 14-13

To: Agency Liaison Officers

From: Cindy Rougeou

Executive Director

Re: Board and Commission Members Not Eligible for LASERS

Date: December 1, 2014

Members of boards and commissions established by the State of Louisiana or any instrumentality or political subdivision of the State may **not** be enrolled in LASERS. This restriction is contained in Article X, Section 29.1 of the Louisiana Constitution, which became effective January 1, 1997.

The prohibition on membership applies unless:

- the legislature specifically authorizes membership in LASERS
- the board or commission member has been serving in the position since January 1, 1997, and was a member of a retirement system covering that position on that date.

If you have questions as to whether a particular position is eligible for enrollment in LASERS, please contact our Legal Division at 225.925.7197.

Board of Trustees:

Shannon Templet, Board Chair

Kathy Singleton, Vice Chair Thomas Bickham

Connie Carlton Sen. Elbert Guillory Beverly Hodges

Hon. John Kennedy Judge William Kleinpeter

Judge William Kleinpete Janice Lansing Barbara McManus Commissioner Kristy Nichols

Rep. Kevin Pearson Lori Pierce Cindy Rougeou, Executive Director