

Louisiana State Employees'
Retirement System

Mail: P.O. Box 44213 • Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4213

Phone: (toll-free) 1.800.256.3000 • (local) 225.922.0600

## LIAISON MEMORANDUM NUMBER 13-13

**To:** Agency Liaison Officers

From: Cindy Rougeou

**Executive Director** 

**Re:** Retirement Eligible Contributions and Wage Types

**Date:** July 12, 2013

Determining what parts of an employee's compensation is retirement eligible can be confusing because it can be classified into several different wage types. These wage types are retirement eligible if they are considered part of "earned compensation" which is defined in R.S. 11:403(10) as base pay and certain emoluments of employment such as paid housing allowances, car allowances, food allowances, and clothing allowances. Reimbursements of expenses do not qualify as emoluments. Also, this definition excludes several wage types from being counted as base pay, namely:

- 1. Overtime (exceptions exist for certain commissioned law enforcement officers and legislative staff);
- 2. Per diem;
- 3. Differential pay;
- 4. Payment in kind;
- 5. Premium pay; or
- 6. Any other allowance for expense authorized and incurred as an incident to employment.

Another item to consider is whether the wage type is considered to be "permanent/recurring" or "temporary/non-recurring." "Permanent/recurring" wage types in most cases are considered retirement eligible where as "temporary/non-recurring" wage types are not retirement eligible. If your agency is unsure about whether a wage type is retirement eligible please consult with your agency's legal counsel for determination. It is difficult for LASERS to make a determination because we do not have details of agency specific employment contracts or agreements. LASERS legal counsel is also available to consult with your agency's counsel on the specifics of LASERS laws and regulations.

If you have additional questions, please contact a LASERS Member Services Representative at 225.922.0600.

**Board of Trustees:** 

Beverly Hodges, Chair Connie Carlton, Vice Chair Thomas Bickham Sen. Elbert Guillory

Hon. John Kennedy

Judge William Kleinpeter
Janice Lansing
Barbara McManus
Commissioner Kristy Nichols

Rep. Kevin Pearson Lori Pierce Kathy Singleton

Shannon Templet

Cindy Rougeou, Executive Director