Toll-free: 1.800.256.3000 | Local: 225.922.0600 | www.lasersonline.org



For Immediate Release July 20, 2021

Candidates Announced in LASERS Board Election

Baton Rouge – Six candidates are running in the 2021 Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System (LASERS) Board of Trustees Election. Three open seats must be filled by active LASERS members.

A random drawing was held to determine ballot positions for the candidates.

The six candidates for the three active positions, in ballot order, are: Catherine Herman, Assistant Manager, Accounts Payable & Travel Office at Louisiana State University; Reggie P. Dupre, Jr., Executive Director of the Terrebonne Levee & Conservation District; Amy A. Mathews, Investment Manager with the Louisiana Department of the Treasury; Theresa Delafosse, Fiscal Officer for the Department of Environmental Quality; Byron P. Decoteau, Jr., Director of Louisiana State Civil Service; and Ternisa Hutchinson, State Deputy Director, Division of Administration, Office of Planning and Budget.

Voting by active LASERS members via mail, phone, or the Internet will begin September 24 and end October 22, 2021.

A retiree election will not be conducted this year as one nomination for Barbara McManus was received to fill one open retiree position. McManus, retired from the Office of Social Services, will begin her new term in January 2022.

The 13-member policy-making Board has fiduciary oversight over LASERS. Members include six elected active members, three elected retired members, and four ex officio members including the State Treasurer, Commissioner of Administration, Senate Retirement Committee Chair, and Member of the House Retirement Committee appointed by the Speaker, or their designees.

LASERS, celebrating its 75th Anniversary in 2021, administers a defined benefit pension plan that covers approximately 100,000 members. LASERS Benefits Louisiana by paying over \$1 billion in annual benefits to beneficiaries, providing a strong and reliable economic stimulus for the State of Louisiana.

For more information, contact Tonja Normand at 225.922.1131 or tnormand@lasersonline.org.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES:

Beverly Hodges, Board Chair Barbara McManus, Vice Chair Thomas Bickham Virginia Burton Charles Castille Commissioner Jay Dardenne Rep. Lance Harris Judge William Kleinpeter Janice Lansing Sen. Barrow Peacock Lori Pierce Hon. John Schroder Shannon Templet Cindy Rougeou, Executive Director

