

For Immediate Release July 1, 2021

LASERS Welcomes J. Travis McIlwain as Chief Administrative Officer

Baton Rouge – The Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System (LASERS) announced and welcomed J. Travis McIlwain as Chief Administrative Officer with primary responsibilities to include oversight of the System's Fiscal Division, to serve as Chief Risk Officer and Incident Response Manager, Director of the Research and Analysis Program, and Director of Strategic Initiatives.

In addition to many years in management, McIlwain brings more than 16 years of experience working with the legislature and government personnel on fiscal issues. He has served as an Associate Commissioner for Finance and Administration at the Board of Regents, a Senior Budget Analyst for the Louisiana Senate, and Section Director in the Legislative Fiscal Office. McIlwain holds a B.A. in Mass Communications and a Master of Public Administration from Louisiana State University.

In his role prior to joining LASERS, McIlwain served as the State Budget Director with the Division of Administration, Office of Planning & Budget. Cindy Rougeou, LASERS Executive Director, said "Travis will be a tremendous asset to our retirement system. His depth of experience, fiscal knowledge, and management capabilities will complement our Executive team."

More information about J. Travis McIlwain is available on LASERS website: https://lasersonline.org/about/lasers-management-team/.

LASERS, celebrating its 75th Anniversary in 2021, administers a defined benefit pension plan that covers approximately 100,000 members. *LASERS Benefits Louisiana* by paying over \$1 billion in annual benefits to beneficiaries, providing a strong and reliable economic stimulus for the State of Louisiana.

For more information, contact Tonja Normand at 225.922.1131 or tnormand@lasersonline.org.

###

BOARD OF TRUSTEES:

Beverly Hodges, Board Chair Barbara McManus, Vice Chair Thomas Bickham Virginia Burton Charles Castille Commissioner Jay Dardenne Rep. Lance Harris Judge William Kleinpeter Janice Lansing Sen. Barrow Peacock Lori Pierce Hon. John Schroder Shannon Templet Cindy Rougeou, Executive Director

