

## For Immediate Release November 19, 2021

## LASERS Members Elect Trustees in 2021 Board Election

**Baton Rouge –** Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System (LASERS) active members elected three Trustees to four-year terms in the 2021 LASERS Board Election.

New Trustees are **Byron P. Decoteau, Jr.**, Director of State Civil Service; **Ternisa Hutchinson**, State Director of Planning & Budget, Division of Administration; and **Amy Mathews**, Investment Officer with the Louisiana Department of the Treasury.

A retiree election was not conducted this year as one nomination for **Barbara McManus** was received to fill the one open retiree position. McManus is retired from the Office of Family Support, Department of Social Services and is currently serving her 13<sup>th</sup> term on the LASERS Board.

Voting ended on October 22 and the LASERS Board of Trustees certified the election results at its November meeting. Elected Trustees will be sworn in prior to the Board's regular meeting in January 2022.

The 13-member policy-making Board has fiduciary oversight over LASERS. Members include six elected by active members, three elected by retired members, and four ex officio members including the State Treasurer, the Commissioner of Administration, Chair of the Senate Committee on Retirement, and member of the House Committee on Retirement appointed by the Speaker of the House, or their designees.

LASERS, celebrating its 75th Anniversary in 2021, administers a defined benefit pension plan that covers approximately 100,000 members. *LASERS Benefits Louisiana* by paying over \$1 billion in annual benefits to beneficiaries, providing a strong and reliable economic stimulus for the State of Louisiana.

For more information, contact Tonja Normand at 225.922.1131 or <a href="mailto:tnormand@lasersonline.org">tnormand@lasersonline.org</a>.

## **BOARD OF TRUSTEES:**

Beverly Hodges, Board Chair Barbara McManus, Vice Chair Thomas Bickham Virginia Burton Charles Castille Commissioner Jay Dardenne Rep. Lance Harris Judge William Kleinpeter Janice Lansing Sen. Barrow Peacock Lori Pierce Hon. John Schroder Shannon Templet

Cindy Rougeou, Executive Director

